Matcha Green Tea Macarons

I started working at a French patisserie in Toronto a couple weeks ago. They make super tasty macarons and after trying one of each, the matcha green tea definitely stood out as a favourite. So of course, I had to try it out at home. I made a batch this morning, and although quite different from the ones in the store, they are so so good. I usually only eat one or two macarons from the batch, but I’ve already had four of these hehe.

I picked up this bag of matcha green tea powder from a Korean grocery store by my house. The stuff is quite pricey!

I added just a tablespoon or so into the shells and that was enough to colour them, so I didn’t need to any other green colouring. I filled them with a white chocolate ganache with the same matcha powder mixed in, and whipped it to a delicious creamy goodness.

There’s no doubt these will all be gone in no time. Although the matcha is pricey, these are just so delicious I’ll definitely be making them many more times to come.

 

Matcha Green Tea Macarons

105 g egg whites (about 3 eggs, I have had no problems with the carton egg whites either)
110 g granulated sugar
140 g almonds, ground or sliced (you can replace 40 g of the almonds with other nuts, such as pistachios or pecans)
90 g icing sugar
1 tbsp matcha powder

Same method as posted here, just mix in the matcha powder with the icing sugar and almonds.

Matcha Green Tea Ganache

8 oz white chocolate
1/2 cup heavy cream
1-1.5 tbsp matcha powder (I didn’t actually measure how much I put in, but I think this is close)

Coarsely chop the chocolate and place in a heatproof bowl over a pan of barely simmering water. Stir occasionally until almost all the chocolate is melted.

In a small saucepan, heat the heavy cream, add the matcha, and whisk to combine. This doesn’t need to boil, but it should be quite warm.

Pour the matcha cream mixture into the bowl of melted chocolate and stir to combine. Let the mixture cool to room temperature, then place in the fridge for at least 30 minutes. You can use it just like this, or whip it with an electric mixer for about 1 minute (careful not to overmix!). The whipped mixture will be lighter in colour.

Related Posts:

macarons part one: french meringue method

macarons part two: coffee, pistachio, chocolate, lemon

macarons part three: swiss meringue method

19 thoughts on “Matcha Green Tea Macarons

  1. Hello, these sound great! Would you mind confirming your recipe? Most of the recipe’s I’ve seen, the powdered sugar is usually more than the almond flour and the granulated sugar is usually the least? But your recipe says (110 g granulated sugar, 140 g almond flour and 90g icing sugar (is this the powdered sugar?). Thanks so much! Can’t wait to hear back from you :)

    Like

    1. I’m so sorry for the super late reply, I’ve been MIA from wordpress for much too long now. You’ve probably already figured it out by now, but there are just different methods of making macarons which require different ratios of ingredients.

      Like

  2. Excellent recipe! I want to try it, but was wondering how almond slices would work in place of ground almonds. Wouldn’t the almond slices be un-smooth in the batter? I have almond slices, but no ground almonds.

    Like

  3. It has been nearly a year since you posted this recipe- but I just made them macarons and would like to tell you that holy shit the matcha white chocolate ganache is HEAVENLY!
    THANK YOU SO MUCH!

    Like

  4. Hello! How much does this recipe yield?I’m about to attempt a batch so I could perfect them before my children’s birthday

    Like

Leave a Reply

