Summer Baking – Tarts, Cakes, Macs, and More

It’s time to revive the blog! My last post may have been a year ago, but rest assured I haven’t burned down my kitchen just yet. I have, however, been spending an unhealthy amount of time watching Masterchef Australia, which has naturally led to spending a lot of time in the kitchen making all sorts of unhealthy (and on occasion, somewhat healthy) food. With that said, here’s a mishmash of some of the things I’ve been up to:

Nectarine, Mascarpone, and Gingersnap Tart

Nectarine, Mascarpone, and Gingersnap Tart
I
 had this one bookmarked for ages and finally got around to making it. It’s absolutely delicious as written, and a great summer dessert, but I may go for a slightly lighter filling next time, maybe even just a whipped version of this one.


Pistachio Sponge with White Choco Mousse and Yuzu Curd
Pistachio Sponge with White Choco Mousse and Lemon Curd
Taken straight off the Masterchef AU website. Except I made a lemon curd instead of a yuzu curd, because I’m not fancy enough for that yet. And I also don’t own an ice cream machine, but I do have a freezer and a whisk which did an admirable job. David Lebovitz has a great post here about making ice cream at home without an ice cream machine.


Lemon TartLemon Tart
This project started out as an attempt to make the Lemon Sabayon Tart with Pine Nut Crust from Thomas Keller’s French Laundry Cookbook, but although the pine nut crust was delicious, I undercooked the sabayon and ended up with a runny (but still delicious) goopy mess. There’s also a recipe alongside the tart for a honeyed mascarpone cream which is heavenly, and which I gladly ate by the spoonful while watching my lemon sabayon slowly ooze out of the pan. I found myself with some leftover lemon curd a few days later and decided to bake up a simple french tart crust to house a more stable filling, which thankfully resulted in a tasty treat (though I unfortunately ran out of ingredients to make that honeyed mascarpone cream I still dream about).

 

Mushroom Leek Risotto

Mushroom Leek Risotto
There’s a million and one recipes out there for risotto, but I ended up reading too many and having them all become a muddled mess in my brain, so I ended up forgoing a recipe altogether and stuck with a flavour combination I know and love. I did admittedly forget to check the salt levels of my broth until I was nearly finished cooking the dish, so I finished it off with water instead of broth and sprinkled in some toasted (and crucially unsalted) almond slivers. The light crunch and nuttiness of the almonds paired surprisingly well with the creamy risotto and rounded it out very nicely.


Warm Beet Orzo Sa

Warm Orzo Beet Salad with Feta and Arugula
I
 don’t know how it’s taken me so long to find out about Food52.com but so far everything I’ve seen has been fantastic. I’ve only recently gotten into beets, and although I prefer them raw, they’re great in this warm salad. The orzo is cooked in the beet-boiling water and together with the creaminess of the feta and bitterness of the arugula, it all makes for a great earthy salad that I’ll likely soon be making again.


Macarons

Cardamom Coffee Pistachio Macarons
and
Hazelnut Chocolate Macarons

And lastly, in classic ovenloven style, I’ll wrap up with some macarons. The pistachios and hazelnuts are mixed into both the shells and the whipped ganache fillings. I made a lot of unmeasured adjustments to these, but they turned out to be quite good so a recipe will (hopefully) be coming soon!

Leave a Reply

