Pumpkin Pie for (Canadian) Thanksgiving

I found this brilliantly simple pumpkin pie recipe on food52 a few weeks ago and couldn’t wait to pull it out for thanksgiving, and boy am I glad I did. It’s made with caramelized pumpkin puree – a small step requiring minimal effort that yields amazing results. Especially when paired with this perfectly salty pie crust. Do it. Do it now. You’ll thank me later.

The braided edge was something I had pinned years ago and never got around to trying, as I always thought it looked too finicky and pie crusts scared me. But it turns out it isn’t so difficult after all, though it does require some patience. I’ve read elsewhere to use an egg wash as glue, but I just used some water and that seemed to do the trick. I put the whole crust (with the braid) in the freezer before baking.

Note: I first blind baked the crust at 350F for about 20 minutes until dry and just starting to take on some colour. The pumpkin custard also seemed too thin to me when I first mixed it, so I took the remainder of my oven’s pre-heating time to cook the custard a little on the stove top before filling the crust and going into the oven. Though this did result in a quicker bake time, I think it would have been just fine had I followed the listed instructions.

I searched and searched for fun uses for leftover pie dough, and settled on what was probably just the easiest: cut out little circles and sprinkle on some cinnamon sugar. Bake at 350 until poofed up and golden.

Leave a Reply

